Homeschooling law in Florida allows parents the freedom to educate their own children. Follow these steps to maintain your status with the county as a legal homeschooler.
1) Submit a Letter of Intent to the County Superintendent of Schools when you begin homeschooling your child who will be six years or older by the month of February.
2) Have your child evaluated annually using a portfolio evaluation by a certified teacher, OR standardized test proctored by a certified teacher, OR psychologist evaluation. Send the results to the County Superintendent of Schools.
3) When you are finished homeschooling in the state of Florida, send a Letter of Termination to the County Superintendent of Schools.
Definitions and Helpful Info.
Volusia County Schools
Home Education Department
P.O. Box 2118
200 N. Clara Ave.
Deland, FL 32721
A Letter of Intent must include the child’s name, Date of Birth, your address, phone number and the date you intend to begin homeschooling.
Letter of Intent
Any teacher certified in the state of Florida is able to provide a homeschool evaluation. After reviewing the child's portfolio and log, and speaking with the child and parent, if the teacher is satisfied that the student is receiving reasonable homeschool guidance and instruction, the teacher will provide a statement that the child is "progressing commensurate to his or her ability." This statement, signed by the teacher, is sent with the teacher's certification number to the Superintendent of Schools. The teacher usually charges a fee for the evaluation. The fee varies, but is usually around $30.
Some certified teachers are homeschooling their own children, or are experienced in evaluating homeschoolers. Talk to people in your local support group to see who they use for evaluations.
If you decide to stop homeschooling, a Letter of Termination should be submitted to the Superintendent of Schools within 30 days. Include the child’s name, birthdate, your address, phone number and the date you stopped or intend to stop homeschooling.